Mohammad Abbas named in ICC Test Team of the Year

Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Abbas has been named in the International Cricket Council’s Test Team of the Year announced today.

Muhammad Abbas, finished the year 2018 with 38 wickets from seven Tests at an average of 13.76, including three five-wicket hauls and a 10-wicket match haul.

He claimed 17 wickets in the two-Test series against Australia, after having picked up 19 wickets in England and Ireland earlier last year.

India skipper Virat Kohli was selected to captain the ICC´s Test and ODI sides for a second year running. He also became the first ever player to clinch all three top honours: Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year, ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year and ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year.

The ICC Test team of the year also included Tom Latham, Kane Williamson and Henry Nicholls of New Zealand, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah of India, Sri Lanka’s Dimuth Karunaratne, Windies’ Jason Holder, Kagiso Rabada of South Africa, and Nathan Lyon of Australia.


Grant Bradburn will take charge as the PCB"s head of high-performance coaching

Australia could return to international action in August with the ODI series against Zimbabwe

The Perth Stadium has successfully hosted India and New Zealand Tests over the past two seasons

Justin Langer inspects the pitch at Perth Stadium

Josh Hazlewood during a one-day outing for New South Wales

David White, the NZC chief executive, is planning for a tough year