Rawalpindi Zone clinch Army Polo C’ship Trophy [The Nation] 13 Feb, 2016

LAHORE - The Rawalpindi Zone outclassed Mangla Zone 9-5 to clinch the Pakistan Army Polo Championship title here held at the Lahore Garrison Polo grounds on Saturday.

Third spot was claimed by Pakistan Rangers Punjab.
Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Raheel Sharif was the chief guest and awarded prizes to the winners of Army polo and tent pegging championship.
Commander Lahore Corps Lieutenant General Sadiq Ali was also present there.

The final could not have been a more fierce fight between two incredible teams Rawalpindi Zone and Mangla Zone.
The players and ponies jostled for the lead continuously with each taking their turn at the top.
In the end, it all came to a head in the last chukkar when Major General Asfandyar Pataudi scored five spectacular goals.
Hence, consolidating his team position and taking Rawalpindi Zone’s score to 9 goals, 4 goals ahead of Mangla Zone and secured victory and 2016 title for this consistently high quality team.
Rawalpindi Zone captain Major General Asfandyar Pataudi received the Army Polo Championships trophy, while Gujranwala Zone captain Lt Col Ali Zaman received the tent pegging trophy.

Earlier, the spectators were enthralled by equestrian games.
The remarkable horsemanship by Army tent pegging teams and tilting tunes of Army band added colours to the concluding ceremony of Army Polo and Tent Pegging Championship.

Diamond Paints, Adisseo vie for top honours: Diamond Paints and Adisseo will vie for top honours in the Nabi Yousaf Memorial Polo Cup 2016 final to be played today (Sunday) at 3pm here at the Lahore Polo Club ground.

The subsidiary final will contested between Royal Palm/Master Paints and Army Remounts at 1:30 pm.
Royal Palm Golf and Country Club chief executive Sheikh Ramzan will be the chief guest at the prize distribution ceremony while Lahore Polo Club (LPC) president Irfan Ali Hyder, executive committee members and a large number of polo enthusiasts will also be present on the occasion.

The team of Diamond Paints has the services of Mir Shoaib Ahmed, Raja Taimur Nadeem, Ahmed Ali Tiwana and Saqib Khan Khakwani while Adisseo team consists Abdul Rehman Monno, Bilal Haye, Usman Haye and Shah Qubilai Alam.

Speaking about the final, LPC chief Irfan Ali Hyder said: “The final will hopefully be played in a pleasant weather and will provide the players and spectators opportunity to enjoy it fully.
After this 12-goal activity, the high-goal events – Aibak Polo Cup, Punjab Polo Cup and National Open Polo – will be conducted in a smooth and befitting manner and I hope this season’s high-goal events will be one of the best and challenging tournaments.

More News

India Deliberately Lost To Contain Pakistan From Reaching Semi-Final: Stokes

28 May, 2020 AbbTakk

KARACHI: English all-rounder Ben Stokes in his new book ‘On Fire’ has recalled his team’s win over India in the 2019 World Cup and has written that he ... Detail

Players in Romanian league risk 12-match ban for spitting

28 May, 2020 The Nation

BUCHAREST - Players in the Romanian league could be banned for up to 12 matches for spitting when the season resumes after the novel coronavirus stopp ... Detail

Italy finally set to decide on Serie A resumption

28 May, 2020 The Nation

ROME - After weeks of wrangling, with several U-turns on the way, Italy is due to decide on Thursday if and when its top-flight Serie A soccer league ... Detail

Relegation-fighting Bremen held to 0-0 draw by Gladbach

28 May, 2020 The Nation

BREMEN-Werder Bremen drew 0-0 at home to Borussia Moenchengladbach in the Bundesliga on Tuesday, a result which moved the visitors into the top four b ... Detail

Double joy for Pongracic as Wolfsburg stun Leverkusen

28 May, 2020 The Nation

LEVERKUSEN-Croatian Marin Pongracic scored his first two Bundesliga goals as VfL Wolfsburg romped to a surprise 4-1 win at Bayer Leverkusen on Tuesday ... Detail

Post Your Comments
Type your Comments / Review in the space below.
Verify Code