PM Imran Khan wins vote of confidence in National Assembly

Bol News  |  Mar 06, 2021

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Saturday won the vote of confidence in the National Assembly after upset in Senate Elections.

According to the details, the house reposed its trust in the leadership of Prime Minister Imran Khan with 178 votes.

Speaker Asad Qaiser is announcing the results. PM Imran Khan has secured the vote of confidence with 178 votes, which is six more votes than he needed.

Shortly after the speaker’s announcement, MNA Aamir Liaquat Hussain took the floor and recited some verses to celebrate Imran Khan’s vote of confidence.

After the announcement, official Twitter handle of the National Assembly posted an update regarding the passing of resolution.

Resolution for reposing confidence in the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan @ImranKhanPTI as required under Clause (7) of Article 91 of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan has been passed by the [email protected] @PTVNewsOfficial @GovtofPakistan @demp_gov

— National Assembly of Pakistan🇵🇰 (@NAofPakistan) March 6, 2021

Earlier , the National Assembly Session started with recitation from the Holy Quran and the national anthem.

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi then tabled the resolution in the National Assembly regarding the Imran Khan’s vote of confidence. The Speaker of the National Assembly then briefed the members on the procedure for voting on confidence motion.

Member of the National Assembly of Pakistan Aamir Liaquat Hussain was the first MNA who casted the vote followed by others. Meanwhile, Imran Khan also casted his vote in his favor.

Imran Khan had announced earlier this week that he would seek a vote of confidence from his party’s lawmakers, following an upset in the Senate election on March 3.

While the ruling PTI made gains, it experienced a shocking upset on the Islamabad seat where PPP’s Yousuf Raza Gilani bagged 169 votes, defeating the government’s nominee, Hafeez Shaikh, who received 164 votes, meaning that several ruling alliance MNAs had voted for the Pakistan Democratic Movement candidate.

--> Adsense 300×250
More News