Liam Plunkett celebrates the wicket of Sami Aslam

Bhuvneshwar Kumar last played ODIs for India in January 2016 © AFP

The location may have changed, but England and India were welcomed to Cuttack with another batting pitch and the prospect of dew later in the evening. It was the visitors who won the toss this time and Eoin Morgan had little hesitation in deciding to chase. He felt the bowling attack would be better served with the addition of a fast bowler at the cost of a spinner, meaning Adil Rashid was kept out by Liam Plunkett, playing his first game of the series.

India made one like-for-like, with seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked to play his first ODI since the tour of Australia in last year. Umesh Yadav sat out.

India lead the three match series 1-0 meaning England were fighting to stay alive in the series.

India 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 MS Dhoni (wk), 6 Kedar Jadhav, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 R Ashwin, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Bhuvneshwar Kumar

England 1 Alex Hales, 2 Jason Roy, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Jos Buttler (wk), 6 Ben Stokes, 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Woakes, 9 Liam Plunkett, 10 David Willey, 11 Jake Ball

Alagappan Muthu is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Suranga Lakmal sends one down

Marizanne Kapp and Mignon du Preez celebrate a wicket

NBA legend Kobe Bryant dies in helicopter crash

R Ashwin hits over the top

NBA legend Kobe Bryant passes away in helicopter crash

Players display heroics on second day of National Snooker