Australia thump Kiwis to force T20I series decider

 Australia thump Kiwis to force T20I series decider
WELLINGTON-Australia thumped Black Caps by 50 runs in a low-scoring fourth T20I in Wellington on Friday to level the series at 2-2. 

The result sets up a winner-takes-all blockbuster in the final match at the same venue on Sunday, with Australia in red-hot form after struggling early in the series. The Australians scored 156 for six in their 20 overs after winning the toss and electing to bat. In reply, New Zealand were all out for 106 after 18.5 overs. Captain Aaron Finch anchored the tourists’ innings with a gritty 79, making him made him Australia’s most prolific T20 international run scorer on 2,310, ahead of David Warner’s 2,265. 

Finch chiselled out his 14th T20 half-century off 55 balls before cutting loose with four sixes in the final over, in which Kyle Jamieson conceded 26 runs. But he struggled for partners as the Black Caps pinned back Australia’s batters with accurate bowling and a steady flow of wickets. Leg-spinner Ish Sodhi was the pick of the New Zealand bowlers, claiming three for 32. 

Ballistic missile strike kills one in northern Syria

The Black Caps made a slow start, with openers Martin Guptill and Time Seifert managing just one boundary apiece in the opening three overs on a spin-friendly wicket. Guptill departed cheaply for seven but it was only the beginning of New Zealand’s woes as they lost a further six wickets for 30 runs. The collapse effectively ended the contest, despite some tail-end resistance from Jamieson, who top-scored for the Black Caps with 30. 


AUSTRALIA 156 for 6 (Finch 79*, Sodhi 3-32) beat NEW ZEALAND 106 (Jamieson 30, K Richardson 3-19) by 50 runs. 

Babar Azam voted ICC men’s player of the month for April 2021  

Zverev downs Berrettini to clinch second Madrid crown

McIlroy wins at Wells Fargo to end 18-month drought

PCB greets national team for sixth straight series win

Dominant Pakistan crush Zimbabwe to sweep Test series 2-0

COVID-19: UEFA under pressure to switch Champions’ League final from Istanbul to London